silver grains, originally uploaded by Marita Cosma.

 “A time comes when silence is betrayal. Men do not easily assume the task of opposing their government’s policy, especially in time of war. We must speak with all the humility that is appropriate to our limited vision, but we must speak. For we are deeply in need of a new way beyond the darkness so close around us… We are called upon to speak for the weak, for the voiceless, for the victims of our nation, for those it calls enemy, for no document from human hands can make these humans any less our brothers.” – Dr. Martin Luther King Jr

“Silence in the face of injustice is complicity with the oppressor.” – Ginetta Sagan 

“When injustice becomes law, resistance becomes duty.” – Thomas Jefferson

“The only real prison is fear and the only real freedom is freedom from fear” – Aung San Suu Kyi

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.” – Mahatma Gandhi

“All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident.” – Arthur Schopenhauer

 “The first reaction to truth is hatred” – Tertullian

That’s not silence, that’s complicity; that’s not friendship, that’s conspiracy. Down there are my memories too. I didn’t agree that day, I don’t agree today, but I’ve seen your point and I’m still perplexed. Reason can’t explain what feelings say. The fact is that I perfectly remember how loud a pig screams when killed, we all knew it in town, especially in my block. Do you want to hear it? No you don’t. Why don’t you ever say you’re sorry? Because you’re not. You created the problem, pretending me to be the cause of it, wanting me to solve it the way you wanted it to be solved, without accepting anyone of my solutions, to then punish me.

When somebody gets so closed to death that others expect it to come and it comes not, when somebody indeed survives, there come those who already got used to its idea and try to push it back, back to illness, back to silence, back down to the earth they thought that somebody was already bound, taking advantage out of it, even unconsciously, there where silence is complicity. Respect is talking, not stalking, not dissing, not censoring. What’s love then? It should be respect. But your own friends won’t save my ass, just yours and theirs, as usual. You’ve been making up that line forever. We were and we are on a mission, that mission is called Eternity. Eternity is painful. Eternity is secretly painful. Freedom is a mirage. Can you listen by the heart? Hear, anger comes before sadness sometimes, you usually walk ten meters before me, just to leave me behind. Can you see by the heart? Look, I usually cry locked into a room but this time I won’t. Anger is strength, anger is energy, anger is life, anger is a defence of life and it hurts badly sometimes, bloody badly. Control your anger, control your strength, use them just as a defence. Erase that line in between. No tears, no fears. I’ve been the courage to look at you straight in the eyes and ask you why the hell you’ve never said you’re sorry, not even when you’d rather see me dead, why should I forgive somebody who’s not able to be sorry, who’s never ever been sorry, who doesn’t know how to apologize, who’s quite never talked to me but to others about me, who’s too proud and selfish to admit a mistake or a cruelty. And down there are my memories too and you’ve never ever asked my opinion about it. Do you know why? Because you don’t care about my opinion, because my opinion doesn’t count, because you don’t want it, because you don’t need it, because you think I’m stupid, because I’m not you.

When somebody suffers, the most of the people don’t care, some are bothered about it, some even enjoy it. Where’s love then? In unsaid words? In a brick that’s easier to put down than a word to be said, than a thought to be thought, than respect to be given? Give, and your karma won’t turn bad. Keep, and you’ll find you care just about yourself. Share, and you’ll know where truth leads: to indifference, then hatred, then victory. What’s victory? Just a word maybe, but a word that’s to be written and said, like Eternity, even that in my pixelated eyes, not because it’s me, but because what’s to be said right now is that anyone matters and Love’s always the answer, even when the question is unwritten or unsaid, erased or left behind like a voice, a name, a memory, a right. Take good care, not only of yourself, and you’ll know what love is.


